• 1981 In Sioux Falls South Dakota Zion forms with the original lineup of
    Bruce Fischer: guitar, David Moore: lead guitar, Rex Scott: drums, Ray
    Roeter: bass guitar. Several names are considered for the new group such
    as Crystal City but "Zion" is presented by Rex and sticks.
  • 1982 Ray Roeter moves out of state and is replaced by Greg Sauer on
    bass. The band begins performing live throughout the region and record
    their first 4 song demo.
  • 1983 Tommy Bozung joins the group as a drum tech for Rex and as a
    sound man. The band purchases an extra long converted school bus
    painted blue for traveling and performing. The band begins the planning of
    recording a full length album and gets their first "big break" by getting asked
    to perform at Sonshine 84 in Wilmar Minnesota, a huge outdoor music
    festival with many top professional acts.
  • 1984 Zion performs at Sonshine and goes over very well. That exposure
    helped generate many more bookings. The band completes and releases
    their first full length album on cassette entitled "Rock For Eternity" and
    begins getting press in several underground fanzines such as Heavens
    Metal. Letters begin coming in from all over the country.
  • 1985 The band continues performing throughout the upper midwest and
    begins to garner record label interest and gets the opportunity to open
    shows for more major artists including The Sweet Comfort Band (Brian
    Duncan). Bruce and David record a collection of ballads titled "Fischer And  
    Moore" to offer an alternative to those who were put off by Zion's loud rock
    guitar sound.
  • 1986 Late in the year Bruce Fischer gets a job offer in Minneapolis
    Minnesota and accepts. Zion was about to call it quits but get revitalized
    when Rex switches to guitar front man and Tommy takes over the
    drumming chores. A more driving sound emerges.
  • 1987 Rex takes time out to go on the road with the Seattle based rock outfit
    Bloodgood as a sound tech and Greg Sauer leaves the band to pursue
    other interests. Rex is befriended by Bloodgood's lead guitarist David Zaffiro
    and the result of that friendship leads to Zaffiro producing Zion's next studio
    work . Friend and fellow South Dakotan Marlin Saner joins Zion in Seattle to
    help record the four song ep called "Thunder From The Mount".
  • 1988  Marlin does not officially join the group however and a bass player is
    found in another South Dakotan named Jeff Johnson. Zion gets an offer
    from the then newly formed east coast record label Image Records owned
    by Dorn Reppert and George Peper after they hear the 4 song ep. Zion
    accepts the recording contract.
  • 1989 Zion goes back to Seattle to record an entire album for Image
    Records. They spend the months of August and September finishing the
    record and it is released in October and is titled "Thunder From The
  • 1990 Marlin officially replaces Jeff Johnson on bass and the band begins
    touring across the US. The album meets with critical acclaim and scores
    five top ten hit singles on Christian rock radio beginning with the song "Is It
    A Crime" which Myrrh Records had licensed to use on their Twelve New
    Faces album. Mark Maxwell from Myrrh begins courting Image Records,
    Zion and David Zaffiro as producer to possibly be Myrrh's first and only metal
    band. Unable to come to contractual terms Myrrh then goes on to sign Holy
    Soldier instead and utilizes David Z. as their producer in attempt to duplicate
    the success of Zion's album.  Zion songs are being used on several "Top
    Hits" albums by other labels during this time.
  • 1991 Some differences develop within the group on several fronts including
    if David Zaffiro should produce the second album or not. At this time Rex
    gets a call from the Los Angeles rock outfit X-Sinner who was looking for a
    new singer and painfully decides it is time to exit Zion.
  • 1992 Rex moves to LA. Tommy, Marlin and David work on and record new
    material but even with Zion's success Image Records runs into too many
    obstacles to overcome and close their doors. A follow up record never gets
    recorded. Tommy, David and Marlin all move to Washington state.
  • 2004 On the 15th anniversary of the recording of "Thunder From The
    Mountain" Rex, David, Tommy and Marlin get together for a reunion of sorts
    in August 2004 in Portland Oregon. They record some material and plan on
    working together in the future.
  • 2005 Dave and Tommy record a full length Christmas album consisting of
    various styles of music that  really show the spirit of the season. Many are
    blessed by the effort.
  • 2007 Retroactive Records releases a live AND studio compilation album
    called "Thrillseeker" which consists of a few live cuts and other choice
    studio cuts from the Zion archives. Some never before released on cd! Also
    Image Records is resurrected from the ashes and takes the original two
    inch tape masters of Thunder From The Mountain in to be restored by
    baking so they can be transferred to digital format so the album can be re-
    mixed and remastered and re-released in a special collectors package!
Poster 1981
Poster 1984
Poster 1986
Poster 1990
Dave Moore Live 1990 in Illinois
Zion 2004 Where'd all the hair go?!
1982 Zion used trailers before they
got a bus
Rex playing bass in the studio on the
Zion Favorite 'Big Fall' 1988
Tommy by his Rogers kit 1990
opening for REZ in Omaha